&it will be wonderful

Today’s been different for a few reasons.

1.) I consumed no coffee.
2.) I worked 10.5 hours from 5:30am this morning.
3.) When Delta sent me an email saying I was no longer being considered for the flight attendant position I applied for, I wasn’t even upset. (Okay, maybe the teeny, tiniest of bits: I’ve lusted after that red dress for awhile now to varying degrees.)

But the thing of it is: my instinct was to read the email and digest it with grace. I didn’t have to remind myself to “think positive” or search for proof that there are other great things up ahead. The thing. is. : I already know it. I know it despite knowing nothing about that wondrous “up ahead.”

As things in Australia are winding down, I’ve largely changed my role from participant to observer. I’ve started noticing, appreciating, and internalizing 15 months of experience. And while I’m not ruling out that today’s aha! moment wasn’t in some way due to the absence of my daily cappuccino, it still remains that what I’ve noticed is: I’ve grown.

Photo on 4-16-14 at 5.44 PM

Leave a comment